An Irish Welcome

Céad Míle Fáilte friend and rover ...
Wherever you come from and whosoever you may be.
That's an Irish greeting and it means

you are welcome
a thousand times over.

Monday, February 8, 2010

Eight types of knowledge

For men of spiritual and divine background, "Damaskin" numbers eight types of knowledge:

The knowledge of sorrow and all temptations,

The knowledge of the sum of one's transgressions,
one's transgressions and God's forgiveness.

The knowledge of horror, pain and fear,
Before death, in death and after separation,
when before the righteous judgement, the soul stands.

The knowledge of Christ, the Savior,
His life and all the saints,
Of the saints; their deeds, patience and words,
Which, like a silver bell resounds throughout the ages.

The knowledge of natural attributes,
Of physical phenomenon; variation and change.

The knowledge of forms and things,
Natural phantoms and all sensory beings.

The knowledge of the world; rational and spiritual
The angelic world and the world of Hades; both good and evil.

The knowledge of God,
The One, Holy, Mighty and Immortal.

This knowledge is called Theology
To it, few are rarely elevated;
The greatest purity, a theologian needs
For the impure heart, to heaven does not reach,
Damaskin, the seven elementary knowledges appropriates
And to the eighth, to the knowledge of God he reached.

And the eighth is given by God and by God bestowed,
This is neither learned nor deserved

No comments:

Post a Comment